Gwinnett County

Gwinnett County is one of the fastest growing counties in Georgia. It has the second largest population in Georgia, second only to Fulton County (Atlanta)

Current Population of Gwinnett County: 824,941
(Source: U.S. Census estimate, 2011)


• Approximately 30 miles northeast of Atlanta
• County seat: Lawrenceville, GA
• 437 square miles
• Adjacent counties: Barrow, DeKalb, Forsyth, Fulton, Hall, Jackson, Rockdale, and Walton
• 80 percent of the U. S. population is within a two-hour flight
• Gateway to metro Atlanta from north and northeast via I-85 and I-985
• Easy access to University of Georgia (at Athens) via University Parkway/GA Highway 316
• Minutes from scenic Lake Lanier
• Home to 15 municipalities.


• Created in 1818 by state legislature
• Some of the land had been part of Jackson County
• The rest was frontier land ceded to the state by the Creek Indians
• Named for Button Gwinnett, signer of the Declaration of Independence