Alimony/Spousal Support

taking money out of walletWhen couples are divorcing, one of the first issues addressed is finances. Each party must decide how he/she will continue to enjoy the same lifestyle they enjoyed throughout the marriage. For some spouses, alimony, also known as spousal support or spousal maintenance, will help them maintain their lifestyle. In Georgia, a court may award three different types of alimony: temporary alimony, rehabilitative alimony, and permanent alimony. The type of alimony the court awards is dependent upon the specific circumstances of each party.

Temporary Alimony

Temporary alimony is awarded to a spouse pending the conclusion of the parties’ divorce. The purpose of temporary alimony is to maintain the current standard of living and to aid the less financially capable spouse in litigating the case on a level playing field. Temporary alimony terminates upon the conclusion of the parties’ divorce case.

Rehabilitative Alimony

Rehabilitative alimony is awarded to a spouse whom is in need of education or has been out of the workforce for a significant amount of time. Its purpose is to provide a source of income until a spouse can become self-sufficient. Rehabilitative alimony commences at the conclusion of a divorce in an amount and duration specified in the court’s final ruling.

Permanent Alimony

Permanent alimony is an increasingly rare form of alimony in Georgia. When awarded, permanent alimony usually follows a long-term marriage and is awarded to a spouse unable to enter the workforce because of education, age, and/or health.

Contact us for a free case evaluation

Koehler and Riddick, LLC has extensive experience in the area of alimony and spousal support. Our professional and client-focused approach to problem solving sets us apart from the competition and sets you on course for a better future. Contact us now for a free case evaluation by phone or to set up a live consultation with one of our attorneys.

We serve Barrow County, Cobb County, Dekalb County, Fulton County and Gwinnett County